Week 4: Lifting Weights (Feb 26 – Mar 4)

(Jordan does not manage this blog. Her emails are being posted on her behalf.)

This week has been one of the best yet! So many things I want to talk about!! My testimony has grown so much and I just love this gospel tons!!

First of all, I love going to the temple. I feel so lucky to be able to go every week while I’m here in the MTC. The temple is literally the House of the Lord and I always feel the Spirit so strongly when I go! I love it.
On Thursday, a painter came into our [class]room to just do some touch ups. He was from  Mississippi and had a really awesome accent. He started talking to us about our missions and how we are going to change generations. The Spirit was so strong and I just could feel like what he was saying was right. He talked to us about how he is a member because of two missionaries who knocked on his great-great-grandparents’ door. He often thinks about how different his life would be if those missionaries hadn’t invited his relatives to be baptized. We are going to make a difference in so many lives and impact generations! It’s so cool to think about!
IMG_0381One day, we were in the gym and I was lifting weights. There was an elder that was helping his companion learn how to lift weights. I watched them and was struck at the symbolism of the situation. The older missionary was bigger and stronger than the missionary he was training. He would stand behind his companion and help him if he was struggling. He watched him carefully and helped him practice. This is a lot like us and the Lord. He is a lot bigger and stronger than us, but He knows us personally. He wants us to get stronger, so He puts weights in our hands and tells us to lift. He will always be there to help us and show us the way, but we have to be acting. We have to be lifting the weights. He can’t really help us if we just sit on the bench and watch others lift. The Lord is always right there behind us helping us when we try our best!
We met with one of our investigators a few times this week. The reason she first met with us is because she wanted us to convince her that God exists. This week we were teaching her more about her Heavenly Father and how she can have a personal relationship with Him. I asked her if she believed in God, and she said she did. She even said that she believed that God was her Father!! This was so huge and I felt so happy when she said that! Just a few weeks ago, she didn’t even believe in God. Now, through meeting with us, prayer, and reading the scriptures, she knows for herself not only that God exists, but that she is His daughter! That was such an amazing experience! I realized that she really didn’t learn that for herself because of what we taught her or what we testified about. We are really just the tools that God uses to bring the gospel to His children. The Spirit is the true teacher. She knows that she is a daughter of God because the Spirit testified of that to her, not because of our broken Chinese. I hope that makes sense.
The other day we taught our other investigator the plan of salvation. He really loves his family, and so we told him about how he can live with his family forever. Then my companion and I sang to him “Families Can Be Together Forever” in Chinese and had him read the words as we sang. The Spirit was so strong! Then we asked him to kneel with us and pray to know if the plan of salvation is true. It was such a powerful experience! It’s such a blessing for me to be a part of this work. I get to see how the gospel literally changes lives and transforms people. I love it so much!!
I love studying Joseph Smith and especially the first vision. The other day I was studying it during my personal study and I am always struck by how much faith it took to do what he did. He knelt down and was overcome by the adversary. Instead of giving up, he prayed harder and more earnestly. That’s just so amazing to me! He plead harder and had a deeper desire to receive an answer. I think there is a lot that we can learn from that experience.
On Sunday, my companion and I were given the assignment to be Sister Training Leaders in our zone. There are eight other sisters in our zone that we are responsible for, and two more are coming today! Only my companion and I are in our dorm room, but the two new sisters who are coming today are going to be our new roommates. I’ll talk more about how that goes next week! But yesterday we went to pick up an international elder! He’s from Fiji and this is his first time leaving Fiji!! His first language is Indian, then Fijian, then English, and now he’s going to learn Chinese! It was so cool talking to him and it reminded me of my first day at the MTC. So much has changed and I have grown so much since that day!
I know that this Church is true. I know that Jesus is the Christ. He really is our Savior. Through Him, we can be cleansed from sin and become so much  more than we would be able to be on our own. I know that we were excited for this opportunity to come to earth and receive a body. We waited and waited until it was our chance to come down and experience everything we are experiencing! I know that this life is the only way for us to be able to become more like our Heavenly Father and fulfill everything we have prepared [ourselves] to do. I hope you all take the time to really study the scriptures. If you try, I promise you will learn something new every single time. I love this gospel and I am so happy to be serving a mission!! Remember to write me!!!
Love you all so much!!
Sister Jordan Michelle Berrey (Bai Jie Mei)
(Jordan does not manage this blog. Her emails are being posted on her behalf.)
